MINUTES

CITY COUNCIL MEETING CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS

124 Old San Antonio Road

Boerne, TX 78006

May 15, 2018 – 6:00 PM

Minutes of the Regular Called City Council Meeting of May 15, 2018 at 6:00 p.m.

Present: Mayor Michael Schultz, Mayor Pro Tem Woolard, Boyd IV, Council Member Joe Anzollito, Council Member Charlie Cisneros, Council Member Craig Colvin, Council Member-Elect Steven Tye, and Council Member-Elect Tim Handren.

Staff Present: Ron Bowman, Siria Arreola, Pam Bransford, Lori Carroll, Kirsten Cohoon, Sandy Mattick, Doug Meckel, Steve Perez, Mike Raute, Holly Rodriguez, Jeff Thompson, Larry Woods, and Linda Zartler.

Registered Guests: Anne Handren, Jane-Alice Tye, and Bob Cates.

1. CALL TO ORDER - 6:00 PM

Mayor Schultz called the City Council Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Mayor Schultz asked for a Moment of Silence and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag and to the Texas Flag.

2. PUBLIC COMMENTS:

No public comments were received.

3. <u>2018-381</u> RECEIVE ELECTION RETURNS FROM THE PRESIDING JUDGES OF THE VOTING BALLOT BOARD AND EARLY VOTING BALLOT BOARD

Mayor Schultz called on Ms. Lori Carroll, City Secretary. Ms. Carroll handed the official election returns from Elections Administrator Staci Decker Election and Judge Dianne Kyle, the Mayor for his review. Ms. Carroll proceeded the election reminded present the results of and everyone of the Order of Cancellation approved in March for Council Member Districts 1 and 3 whom were unopposed. The results for Council Member District 5 were as follows: Joseph A. Macaluso, Jr. received 105 votes; Tim Handren received 160 votes: a total of 265 votes cast. There are a total of 2001 registered voters in District 5.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY MAYOR PRO TEM WOOLARD, SECONDED **RECEIVE** AND APPROVE THE **ELECTION** MEMBER CISNEROS, TO **RETURNS FROM PRESIDING** OF THE **VOTING BOARD** JUDGES BALLOT AND EARLY VOTING BALLOT BOARD. THE MOTION CARRIED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

- Yeah: 5 Council Member Anzollitto, Mayor Pro Tem Woolard, Council Member Boyd IV, Council Member Cisneros, and Council Member Colvin
- 4. 2018-380 CONSIDER RESOLUTION NO. 2017-R37; A RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE CANVASS OF ELECTION RETURNS OF THE MAY 5, 2018 GENERAL CITY ELECTION AND DECLARING SAID DISTRICTS 1, 3, AND 5 COUNCIL MEMBERS DULY ELECTED.

Carroll stated Resolution No. 2018-R37 gives breakdown of Ms. а the N. Macaluso, Jr. received 72 votes during Early Voting, 19 votes Joseph 14 votes by mail for a total of 105 votes. Handren Election Day, and Tim received 84 votes during Early Voting, 44 votes on Election Day and 32 votes for a total of 160 votes. Staff recommended approval of Resolution 2018-R87 declaring Joe Anzollitto duly elected as Council Member Steven Tye duly elected as Council Member District 3, and Tim Handren duly elected as Council Member District 5.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCIL MEMBER BOYD IV, SECONDED BY COUNCIL MEMBER ANZOLLITTO, TO APPROVE RESOLUTION NO. 2018-R37; A RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE CANVASS OF ELECTION RETURNS OF THE MAY 5, 2018 GENERAL CITY ELECTION AND DECLARING SAID DISTRICTS 1, 3, AND 5 COUNCIL MEMBERS DULY ELECTED. THE MOTION CARRIED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

- Yeah: 5 Council Member Anzollitto, Mayor Pro Tem Woolard, Council Member Boyd IV, Council Member Cisneros, and Council Member Colvin
- 5. 2018-383 ADMINISTER OATHS OF OFFICE

Mayor Schultz administered the Oaths of Office to Joseph Anzollitto, Council Member District 1; Steven Tye, Council Member District 3; and Tim Handren, Council Member District 5.

Present: 6- Mayor Michael Schultz, Council Member Steven Tye, Mayor Pro Tem Woolard, Council Member Joe Anzollito, Council Member Ron Cisneros, and Council Member Tim Handren.

6. 2018-384 EXPRESSION OF GRATITUDE TO OUTGOING COUNCIL MEMBERS

Mayor Schultz expressed his appreciation to both Council Members Boyd IV and Colvin for their service to the citizens of Boerne. He presented each one with a plaque and gift.

7. 2018-382 CONSIDER THE ELECTION OF THE OFFICE OF THE MAYOR PRO TEM FOR THE TERM OF MAY 2018 TO MAY 2019

Mayor Schultz explained the Mayor Pro Tem must be elected by City Council as per the City's Home Rule Charter. The Mayor Pro Tem shall act as Mayor during the absence or disability of the Mayor.

A MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCIL MEMBER CISNEROS, SECONDED BY COUNCIL MEMBER HANDREN, TO NOMINATE NINA WOOLARD TO THE OFFICE OF MAYOR PRO TEM FOR THE TERM OF MAY 2018 TO MAY 2019. THE MOTION CARRIED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

8. COMMENTS FROM COUNCIL/LEGAL COUNSEL/STAFF – No discussion or action may take place.

Mayor Schultz congratulated the newly elected Council Members and encouraged them to reach out if they have questions or need assistance.

9. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCIL **MEMBER** ANZOLLITTO, **SECONDED** BY COUNCIL **MEMBER** HANDREN, TO **ADJOURN** THE CITY COUNCIL **MEETING** ΑT 6:15 P.M. THE MOTION CARRIED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

City Council

Official Meeting Minutes

May 15, 2018

Yeah:	5 -	Council	Member	Anzollitto,	Mayor	Pro	Tem	Woolard,	Council
		Member Member T		s, Council	Memb	oer	Handre	n, and	Council
		17.6.11061 1	, -						
					-				Mayor
City Secreta	ıry								